Select Page

Kwa-Zulu Natal

KwaZulu Natal forms South Africa’s east coast, stretching from Port Edward in the south, to the Mozambique boundary in the north. From its early days, the province has been the scene of many fierce battles – being the bone of contention between the Zulus and the Voortrekkers, the British Empire and Boer settlers (Anglo-Boer War) and the Zulus and the British Empire. The KwaZulu Natal coast has one of the greatest harbours on the African continent, Durban, which geographically divides the North and South Coasts. Visitors to KwaZulu Natal can either disembark from Durban International Airport or the Durban harbour, or make use of the extensive national road network. The province has three different geographic areas: the lowland region along the Indian Ocean coast, plains in the central section and two mountainous areas, the Drakensberg Mountains in the west and the Lebombo Mountains in the north. The Tugela River flows west to east across the centre of the province.